Welcome to InsuranceForums.info!   

Advertisments:

Sponsor Links

Affordable Pet Insurance
Travel Insurance Comparison

Why Are My Parents So Hesitant On Letting Me Buy Myself A Horse?

Term Life Insurance & Whole Life Insurance Discussion

Postby MacKinley » Fri Sep 15, 2017 2:26 pm

So, just to start off, I am not some whiny little kid that has no idea what they're considering. Yes, I am 13, but I have been riding for 8 years now, and I even train many of the green horses at my barn. And I am not asking how to convince my parents to buy me one, I'm asking why my parents are so hesitant on letting my buy MYSELF one.

I have a plan to were when I have gotten enough money, and a good enough paying job (well as good as I can get as a teenager), cracking open my savings account that I have set aside to buy a horse, and buying myself one. I live in Georgia, so I can legally get a job at 14. Now, don't start saying that there's more then just the horse I need to pay for. I know about the feed, the board, the tack, the vet bills, the ferrier, the chiropractor, the dentist, the insurance, the trailer, and the other gear I'll need.

I ride at a very high and experienced level, and I know all of these things. I've even sat down and had several serious conversations with my instructor about the costs, and gotten some *real* numbers when it comes to money. I've told my parents that I plan on paying for all of this myself, that I am ready to give up my therapist, girl scouts, and many other things for this so I will be able to afford it. I'm homeschooled, and am very focused on my grades, having skipped 2 grades. I'm already at the barn everyday, training a green horse named Bliss, and my school has not fallen behind.