Advertisments:

Sponsor Links

Affordable Pet Insurance
Travel Insurance Comparison

Which puppy should I get?

Insurance for your furry friends

Postby lavan » Thu Mar 31, 2011 2:11 am

OK. I've been wanting a puppy for years and I think I'm finally in a place where I can get one, I'm just not sure which one to get. I've already planned ahead with vets, emergency care, pet insurance, doggy daycare, groomers, and money, and I fully believe the only good reasons to ever give up a dog are you're dead or so disabled you can't even take care of yourself, much less a dog and in the even either of those happen to me, I've made arrangements; our family would never let a dog go to the pound.

I really REALLY want a GSD, but I've never owned and trained a large dog before and I know training a dog like a GSD is one of the most important things you can do and I'm a bit afraid. I'm a good trainer and I've trained small dogs, who can be quite stubborn. I guess I'm not so much afraid as unsure. I've worked with large dogs and I'm authoritative without being heavy-handed so I think I can do it, but I would really hate to screw up a good dog. Also, I live in a small apartment. While I would walk and exercise my dog daily, when at home, he wouldn't have a whole lot of room. And, I live in Alaska and when I go home (for holidays) it would be very difficult to take him and expensive to board him. I'd feel a bit bad leaving him behind.

Or, I could get a mini dashhund. I've trained 2 minis before and 1 standard so I'm much more comfortable with the breed overall. Also, they're small and portable. And while training can be a bit hard because they're stubborn, if they do something wrong, they're a lot easier to just pick up or hold down or something until you teach them to do it themselves.

I guess at this point in my life and my living situation, I should probably get the doxie, but I really want the GSD.
lavan

Postby jager » Thu Mar 31, 2011 2:14 am