Not logged in? Join one of the largest Insurance Forums on the Internet! Join Now!  

Advertisments:

Sponsor Links

Affordable Pet Insurance
Travel Insurance Comparison

I am a truck driver and I drive over the road, what all can I deduct? or do I have only the standard deducts?

Health Insurance topics including Obamacare & Health Insurance quotes

I am a truck driver and I drive over the road, what all can I deduct? or do I have only the standard deducts?

Postby kye » Tue Sep 27, 2011 6:36 am

Can I take any deducts on the days away from home and can I take my Health Insurance as a deduct? I am a company driver.
kye

Postby glinyeu52 » Tue Sep 27, 2011 6:38 am

I am a truck driver not a tax professional, what I say is from my experience, not training in tax law...always find a good tax preparer that is familiar with trucking to do your taxes and advise you.

First off you can deduct I believe this year it is 80% of $57.00 daily for every day you are 50 miles away from your homebase overnight...you have to be able to document the fact that you are away from home overnight...use your logbooks. (http://www.taxalmanac.org/index.php/Publication_463)
This is to reimburse you for meal and motels without receipts. This cannot be used if your company pays you using a per diem pay system.

Basically, other than the above, you can deduct any business expense that your company does not reimburse you for. For instance, if your company does NOT reimburse you for tolls, you can deduct any tolls you have to pay off of your taxes. (this is in addition to the per diem deduction and you must itemize to take these and below)