Welcome to InsuranceForums.info!   

Advertisments:

Sponsor Links

Affordable Pet Insurance
Travel Insurance Comparison

Need Advice On A Car Accident Claim Being Made Against Me?

Anything related to Car Insurance, Car Insurance Quotes, Insurance Claims

Postby Ros » Tue Oct 03, 2017 11:09 pm

Back in 2009 when i was a learner driver, i was driving down a road with cars parked both sides, and i met a driver in the road, when we passed our cars scraped against each other. The insurance decided it was a 'both at fault' claim and that was it.

Today i have received documents from the county court to advise that the other driver is claiming between £1500 and £3000 against me for 'injuries and losses sustained as a result. he is claiming i -

drove at an excessive speed (20mph)

failed to brake or steer to control my vehicle

failed to see the other driver

failed to keep proper lookout

drove into collision without the exercise of proper skill.

Now i appreciate i was a learner driver, but that does not mean i wasn't driving safely. I was accompanied by a 52 year old experienced driver, and the fault did lay with both of us. Yes the collision caused damage, but we were both driving VERY slowly when the two cars passed, literally at snail speed. He is also saying i drove on the wrong side of the road (not sure how i could do that with cars parked both sides, there were actually more vehicles on HIS side) and he is saying i failed to gove proper warning of approach.

This is ALL LIES. The facts of his case are -

experienced mild shock resolved within 1 day

suffered moderate neck pain - resoslved within 6 months

moderate shoulder pain which resolved within 3 months

he DID NOT receive any treatment at the scene of the accident, he then drove home

Consulted his GP about the neck and shoulder 3 DAYS LATER

Did not have any investigations

GP'S OPINION

No wounds or scars seen

examination of neck was normal

examinsation of upper limbs was normal