Not logged in? Join one of the largest Insurance Forums on the Internet! Join Now!   Latest blog post: Detroit Most Expensive Auto Insurance

Advertisments:

Sponsor Links

Affordable Pet Insurance
Travel Insurance Comparison

Health insurance options for a 20 year old student with no parental coverage?

Health Insurance topics including Obamacare & Health Insurance quotes

Postby garen » Tue Apr 24, 2012 10:38 am

I have recently had a medical issue and went to the ER. One visit racked me up over $2,000 of bills that I obviously can not pay. Now I am looking at options for health insurance, but I am worried i will not find anything affordable. I am a college student and work full time for min. wage and live on my own. I come from a working class family and neither one of my parents have insurance. is there any way i can get some form of healthcare? i know i cant get medicaid because im a white male with no kids, but is there any other options?
garen

Postby wryhta49 » Tue Apr 24, 2012 10:43 am

I have 2 kids in college and both require them to show proof of health insurance, or they have to pay for it on their tuition bill. Are you sure you are not covered through your college? It might be worth checking with them.
wryhta49

Postby berkley » Tue Apr 24, 2012 10:47 am

"Working Class Family" with no health insurance? Why don't your parents have health insurance? Do they have cable tv, smartphones and the Internet, but no health insurance? Food, shelter, job, health insurance....everything else should take a back seat.

You need to have a chat with your parents about getting coverage. As you now know, insurance isn't as expensive as needing it and not having it. That one visit cost more than two years of health insurance premiums for a good plan in my state.
berkley

Postby aisley » Tue Apr 24, 2012 10:53 am