Welcome to InsuranceForums.info!   

Advertisments:

Sponsor Links

Affordable Pet Insurance
Travel Insurance Comparison

Gerber Life Grow Up Plan? Any Other Life Insurance?

Funeral Insurance, Term Insurance and Burial Insurance

Postby Florent » Tue Jul 15, 2014 6:45 pm

Hello ok I am totally new to this whole life insurance dealio. I was looking into getting the Gerber Life Grow Up Plan for my 4 year old but when I had signed up for info they sent me all the brochures and materials and the application of course. But what I am curious about is the beneficiary part. Maybe I may have it confused with something else but shouldnt my daughter be the beneficiary and not myself because if something were to happen to ME, i would want my daughter to be the one left with money. That's pretty much the confusing part. Like I said, I am new to this. I was never taught this or anything growing up so I want to provide financial security/help to my daughter in the event that I pass away or anything like that.

Also, are there any other good insurance companies that can be recommended? Thank You :)
Florent

Postby Leachlainn » Tue Jul 15, 2014 8:31 pm

The Gerber plan is to pay you if your daughter dies. It does not provide money should you die. Do not send in the application as it is a waste of money.

You'll need to get a policy on yourself, and if you really want a small burial policy for your daughter you can get a rider on your policy. There are dozens of very good companies. Find a local agent that works with some of the major companies in your state for assistance. The agent can help you find the best policy and there is no extra charge.
Leachlainn

Postby Aekerman » Sun Jul 20, 2014 7:00 am

Life insurance is to cover working parents, not babies and toddlers. The Gerber Life plan is a complete scam that takes advantage of desperate or ignorant people.