Welcome to InsuranceForums.info!   

Advertisments:

Sponsor Links

Affordable Pet Insurance
Travel Insurance Comparison

Car insurance got cancelled, where do I stand, how does this effect me?

Anything related to Car Insurance, Car Insurance Quotes, Insurance Claims

Postby stephan » Tue May 28, 2013 6:51 am

So I had an accident, not my fault, made a claim. but my insurance company didn't like how I was a named driver on the policy but the owner of the car, however this was made aware to them when I took the policy. so they dropped my claim and refunded my money. I then immediately got new cover elsewhere. I have now received a letter that suggests that what had happened was my insurance had been cancelled. Now i did not know this at the time of getting my new cover. However my new cover is fully in my name now. The company didn't ask me weather i had been cancelled before either. where do i stand, do i need to ring them up and tell them? I don't what to have another policy cancelled cause I didn't know y previous one was? also how does this effect me, and for how long? My new policy is with Diamond, i understand some companies do not insure people who have had polices cancelled, would they?
stephan

Postby standish22 » Tue May 28, 2013 6:57 am

When you take out any car insurance, they always ask you if you've had a policy cancelled before. You obviously didn't answer or didn't answer truthfully.

Your original policy has been cancelled because you were fronting, loads of teens get caught doing this every week, and still seem to think they can get away with it.

You need to sort it out with your current insurer and be honest this time.
standish22

Postby cormic » Tue May 28, 2013 6:59 am

Your first insurance company cancelled your cover because you were fronting. You were the driver of the car but listed yourself as an occasional driver to get a lower premium. They regard this as fraud so they cancelled your policy.